Peugeot RCZ Car of the Motor Show Winners

29 October 2010
Peugeot RCZ Car of the Motor Show Winners

Nursing assistant Sylvia Soos, 56, has won the stunning Peugeot RCZ sports cars with her SMS entry in the competition, in which car fans around Australia voted to pick the best vehicle at the Australian International Motor Show.

“Are you serious!,” Ms Soos exclaimed when told of her win. “I’m stunned – it’s a great car. A beautiful car… and I never dreamed of winning,”

Ms Soos entered from the gallery in the Sydney Daily Telegraph Carsguide, and said she was delighted to have won as she hadn’t owned a car for about eight years. “I’m quite speechless. I really have to pinch myself. I feel very privileged. “When I was a young girl I always adored sporty fast cars. “This is a dream come true…it is more than wonderful.”

Already an icon of automotive design with its unique curved roofline and chic European lines, the RCZ is a real headturner and guaranteed to make a splash in Ms Soos’ street in Kingsgrove, NSW.

She will be driving the special 200th Anniversary version, worth more than $68,000 on the road, powered by a 2.0-litre turbodiesel and finished with a carbon-fibre roof, premium pearl white metallic paint, 19-in 'Sortilege' alloy wheels set off by matt black brake callipers - and the RCZ carbon-fibre luggage set.

The winner of the RCZ was selected at random from all those who voted, no matter which car they chose in the competition. While Ms Soos voted for the Maserati, the Peugeot RCZ itself was judged Carsguide Car of the Motor Show by the public across most of the country, with 17 per cent of the vote topping the polls everywhere except Tasmania and the Northern Territory (who favoured the Lexus LFA).

However the Lexus finished at fifth overall in the close to 30,000 votes received. Second place was claimed by the HSV GTS with 12 per cent of the votes, while third went to the Audi A1 and fourth to the Mercedes-Benz SLS AMG ‘Gullwing’.

Winners of the $3000 Caltex fuel cards were:

NSW/ACT: Tim Tadros
Victoria: Margaret Tescher
Tasmania: Lindsay Reddington
Northern Territory: E Moyd
Queensland: Rhett Wheeler
SA/WA: Helena Swayne