Browse over 9,000 car reviews

Sorry, there are no cars that match your search

Winners of the Ministry of Sound CD pack

If you want to start a heated argument, just try and put forward a list of the best driving songs... of any category.  Everybody has a different view, it seems. And the British certainly have a different view from the drivers in the Carsguide office, judging by the top 10 songs nominated in a recent study there.

Lynard Skynard’s Sweet Home Alabama pipped Britain’s Katrina and the Waves summer hit Walking on Sunshine for pole position in the survey. And their top 10 is dominated by songs from the ‘60s, ‘70s and ‘80s.  The only song recorded in the past 10 years is the-less-than-summery Mr Brightside, by The Killers, at number four.


1 Sweet Home Alabama - Lynard Skynard: 52%
2 Walking on Sunshine - Katrina and the Waves: 48%
3 Summer of 69 - Bryan Adams: 43%
4 Mr Brightside - The Killers: 40%
5 Club Tropicana - Wham!: 36%
6 Good Vibrations - The Beach Boys: 33%
7 Love Shack - The B52s: 33%
8 Rio - Duran Duran: 30%
9 Lovely Day - Bill Whithers: 27%
10 Sun is Shining - Bob Marley: 19%

Music label Ministry of Sound has a vastly different idea, with their just-launched annual Maximum Bass Ultimate 3-CD compilation featuring much more recent tracks, divided into hip-hop, dubstep/drum’n’bass and hardcore. The Maximum Bass set is always the high-energy driving companion of the year, and this year’s release will be no exception.

And that got us thinking about another category: the great Australian driving song. What do you think is the best one… and why? Let us know in the comments box below in 25 words or less, and you could be one of the lucky 20 winners of the Maximum Bass Ultimate pack, valued at around $150, and consisting of:

-          A copy of Maximum Bass Ultimate (RRP: $29.95)
-          A copy of Running Trax (RRP: $29.95)
-          A copy of Clubbers Guide To Spring 2010 (RRP: $29.95)
-          A Ministry of Sound iPhone cover (RRP: $19.95)
-          A Ministry of Sound T-Shirt (guys or girls, depending on winner – designs may differ from image) (RRP: $40)

The winners are:

Jeremy Wilson, Amanda Gorton, Nicole Kan, Jan Wilson, Jessica.D, Teague Leigh, Leisa Meier, Carol King, Robert Smith, Megan Heinrich, John Robinson, Matthew, Kira Campbell, Jessica, Wendy Keam, Kelly Jones, Ian Hawkins, Rob Gamble, Tim Van. MOS will be in touch shortly to get your details!